eco ramblings

a dialogue with an Eco Patriot

Boulder Fire

Posted by Luke on September 8, 2010

There has been a terrible wildfire in Boulder the past couple days.  It started in the foothills just west of town on Monday and has burned over 7,000 acres and nearly 100 buildings since then.  Approximately 3,000 people have been evacuated from their homes.  It’s the largest fire in the county’s history, and there’s a huge cloud of smoke over the town and surrounding areas.  Fortunately, the fire hasn’t come into the city of Boulder, but there are other small communities in the hills that have been demolished.  It’s a sad state.

Times like this make me appreciate my life and realize how fortunate I am.  People have lost their homes, lost their photographs, and lost their pets.  It’s sad that it takes a tragedy or natural disaster to make me realize that no business success or closed sale or customer win can compensate for the truly important things in life.  It puts into perspective just how small and insignificant my daily activities are even though when I’m doing them I feel like I can change the environment, the industry, or at least my life.  Despite that, it is still important that I do those things.  I guess the key is to maintain balance and do those things knowing what’s truly most important.

“Whatever you do will be insignificant, but it is very important that you do it.” -Gandhi

Leave a Reply

 
